The village owes its name to a tumulus, which still stands today, known as the “Cha-vost” (hidden army).
n the 10th century, Mont-Felix fortress was built on the site, followed by a church in the early 12th century. The fortress was destroyed in the 15th century and the village of Chavost began to emerge beside its famous church. Over time, Chavost lost its “s” to become Chavot.
The villages of Chavot and Courcourt merged 140 years ago and, since then, the commune has been known as Chavot-Courcourt. It lies 4 km from Epernay, the Capital of Champagne, in a region known as Coteaux sud d'Epernay.
The meeting of 18 March 1946
Extraordinary general meeting
At 8pm on the eighteenth of March in the year nineteen hundred and forty-six, a general meeting was held of the members of the Chavot-Courcourt wine cooperative in Chavot town hall to discuss an agenda set by the board of directors[...]Mr. Pothelet
Chavot-Courcourt is known throughout the world for its iconic 12th-century church which sits high on a hill, a short distance from the village, like a beacon in a sea of greenery.
Firmly established on the map of the region, it is photographed by the thousands of tourists who pass through Champagne each year.
Champagne Chavost, which adopted the old village name, was born in 1946 when a handful of wine growers decided to pool their talents and their harvest.Discover the Coop'
This spirit of cooperation and sharing is just as strong today. More than 100 wine growers, each of them as motivated and passionate as our ancestors, have joined forces to work a total of 70 hectares, planted 50% to Pinot Meunier, 45% to Chardonnay and 5% to Pinot Noir.